Jake

17097796_10208618031945130_5003086656114382197_o

Jonathan (fondly known as Jake) from Belgium

Jake is an almost professional dabber, class participation extraordinaire and a chill, friendly soul who is a lot more smiley than he looks in this soulful photo. Today, we sit down with Jake to learn about his life at IE doing the MIM, and to get a perspective on his class engagement. Fun Facts: Jake dances, and draws!

Hola Jake, tell us about your plans after the mim?

My objective is to go into consulting, more specifically digital consulting where I feel like I can get a better understanding of how new technologies are shaping businesses today.

 How would you describe yourself in 5 words?

Hard-working, passionate, creative, determined, interesting.

 Tell us a bit about your life in IE so far 

My life at IE has been a life-changing event for me. Over the past 7 months that I’ve spent in IE I have learned so much academically, but also about myself. The intense pressure that we are submitted to on a daily basis allowed me to discover and forge a strong character which I believe will be extremely useful in the future. Although it is not always easy, if I had the opportunity to do it all over again, I would do it in a heartbeat. The most interesting part for me was to see my team working skills evolving over this time period. Indeed, before coming to IE, I always thought that I had extremely good team-working skills, However, it was only when mixed with people from different backgrounds, knowledge and skills that I realised my shortcomings and the necessity for me to learn from my mistakes and become a better team member.

 What has been your most favourite subject in the MIM and why?

 Although I have a lot of subjects in mind, I would say that “corporate finance” has been my favourite subject because it really pushed me to step out of my comfort zone, push my limits and work on projects which I never thought that I would be able to achieve before.

 What is the secret to your class-participation superpowers?

 I am a very enthusiastic and passionate person so when I do something I want to do it to the fullest of my abilities. The most interesting part for me was to also see the evolution of my class participation as in the beginning, I thought class participation only meant speaking, but over time, I’ve learned that participation is all about enriching the class discussions and add value to the subject discussed. Furthermore, many people do not realise that teachers really appreciate when students engage and test their abilities and knowledge. So to me, I will always have time to spend time on Facebook or Instagram, but when I am in class, I am dedicated to engaging with the class content.

 What do you wish you had done differently in your first two semesters at IE?

I believe that I was sometimes too focused on grades rather than capturing the true value of the experience that I am living in IE. If I had to change something, I would have focused less on my grade and focused more on learning from, and also give more to the people around me.  

What is your favourite thing about Madrid?

Prior to coming to Madrid, I lived 5 years in London where life is extremely fast paced. Here in Madrid, everything is much more relaxed, and although sometimes I feel like people are too relaxed, it is quite enjoyable to take things in a much slower pace and enjoy the beautiful city.

What’s the most fun experience you have had in class?

 My favourite memory would have to be during our communication class when we all had to prepare 30 second speeches. While everyone spoke about their cats, dogs and hobbies, one of my classmates decided to talk about his love story with a girl he met online which too me by surprise and made me laugh for the rest of the class.

If you could describe your IE experience thus far in 3 words, it would be….

 Tough, Rewarding, Life-changing.

Leave a Reply

